2018 Board of Directors

The American Cancer Society, Inc. Board of Directors is composed of five officers and 16 directors. Directors are elected for a two-year term. The all-volunteer board is responsible for setting policy, establishing long-term goals, monitoring general operations, and approving the organizational outcomes and allocation of resources.


Kevin J. Cullen, MD — Chair
Daniel P. Heist, CPA — Vice Chair 
Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP — Board Scientific Officer
John Alfonso, CPA, CGMA — Secretary/Treasurer
Arnold M. Baskies, MD, FACS  — Immediate Past Chair 


Joseph A. Agresta, Jr.                                                                  
Bruce N. Barron                        
Edward J. Benz, MD, FACP                                                                  
Jennifer R. Crozier                                                                                                                                             
Gareth T. Joyce                                                                                   
Jeffrey L. Kean                                                                        
Amit Kumar, PhD                                                                                
Jorge Luis Lopez, Esq.                                                             
Brian A. Marlow, CFA                                                             
Michael T. Marquardt                                                                              
Scarlott K. Mueller, MPH, RN                                                                    
Joseph M. Naylor                                                            
William D. Novelli                                                            
Gregory L. Pemberton, Esq.                                                                             
Gary S. Shedlin